2013 Husqvarna ACU British Sprint Enduro Championship, Round 3

  • News
  • >
  • 2013 Husqvarna ACU British Sprint Enduro Championship, Round 3

2013 Husqvarna ACU British Sprint Enduro Championship, Round 3

Unseasonably dry conditions at the picturesque Welsh venue of Saints Well in Mid Wales welcomed competitors for round three of the 2013 BSEC series, where a fast, flowing course delivered

Unseasonably dry conditions at the picturesque Welsh venue of Saints Well in Mid Wales welcomed competitors for round three of the 2013 BSEC series, where a fast, flowing course delivered spectacular and closely fought racing. The championship’s first one-day event, Matti Seistola claimed a deserved victory in the Elite class. Jack Rowland topped the Under 23 class, Rob Johnson won in the Under 19 category, Brad Freeman dominated the 125cc Youth Cup, and Carl Brogden secured victory in the Expert class, with Jane Daniels topping the Women’s class.


With a strong line up of international talent competing in the Elite class, Finland’s Matti Seistola (Husqvarna) instantly hit the ground running and set the fastest time on the opening special test. Continuing to maintain his advantage at the head of the field, Seistola steadily extended his lead as the day progressed and secured a 34-second margin of victory.

Making his first appearance in the 2013 BSEC series Gas Gas’ Danny McCanney immediately impressed. After a disappointing first special test, the Manxman picked up his pace. Stealing the fifth special test win away from Seistola, McCanney ended his day in second overall.

Hopeful of repeating his race win from round two of the series, Husaberg’s Jamie McCanney struggled to find his pace. Holding off a late charge by TM’s Jordan Rose, McCanney nevertheless ended the day third.

Slow to start, Rose soon found his rhythm during the second half of the day to take fourth. KTM’s Tom Sagar ended his day placing just ten seconds behind Rose to complete the top five.

Under 23

In the highly competitive Under 23 class Husqvarna’s Jack Rowland repeated his winning performance from rounds one and two. Finding the fast flowing course to his liking, Rowland held off class rookie Steve Holcombe (KTM) by ten seconds to secure the win.

Returning to competitive action following a winter-layoff due to injury, the 2012 Under 19 BSEC champion Holcombe quickly found his form to end his day as runner-up to Rowland. Unable to consistently match the pace of the leading duo, Sherco’s Gethin Humphreys placed just 22 seconds behind Rowland to complete the top three. Scotland’s Frazer Norrie (KTM) held of TM’s James Dent to place fourth with Dent rounding out the top five.

Under 19

Husqvarna’s Rob Johnson began round three in a determined mood and quickly established himself at the head of the Under 19 category. Maintaining his fast pace throughout the day, Johnson comfortably claimed his class win in Saints Well.

Despite numerous mistakes, Kawasaki’s Joe Wootton recovered strongly to place as runner-up to Johnson. Behind the top two, TM’s Josh Gotts overcame a problem during the third special test to claim third. With KTM’s Andrew Bull placing fourth Sherco mounted Jon Hunt rounded out the top five.

125cc Youth Cup

Continuing from where he left off at the opening rounds of the series KTM’s Brad Freeman again proved to be the rider to beat in the 125 Youth Cup. Confident on the dry terrain Freeman powered his way to a massive two-minute margin of victory. KTM’s Jack Staines claimed second with Husaberg’s Lee Sealey in third. Ashley Scott (Yamaha) and Drew Slevin (Yamaha) placed fourth and fifth respectively.


In the Expert class TM mounted Carl Brogden recorded his first win of the season. Sherco’s Scott Austin improved on his result from the opening round of the series to finish as runner-up to Brogden. Kawasaki’s Brad King placed just one-second behind Austin to complete the top three. KTM’s Richard Ely ended his day five seconds behind King in fourth while Shaun Buchan (Yamaha) rounded out the top five.

KTM mounted Andrew Reeves beat Neil Bowker (Honda) to win the Expert Vets category. Husaberg’s Tim Cotton made the long drive from Cornwall worthwhile with victory in the Clubman Vets class. KTM’s Dai Beer was second with Keith Jones (KTM) ending his day in third.


In the large Clubman class Aaron Martin (KTM) topped the standings. Chris Morris (KTM) placed as runner-up while Kyle Jacobs (Gas Gas) beat Peter Heyward (KTM) by one-tenth of a second to secure the final step of the podium.

Husaberg’s Jane Daniels overcame a fast starting Katie Walker (KTM) to win the Women’s class.

The Husqvarna ACU British Sprint Enduro Championship continues with rounds four and five at Llangrove, Monmouth on July 6/7.

About the BSEC

The Husqvarna British Sprint Enduro Championship is the UK’s newest off-road motorcycle race series, promoted and organised exclusively by GMC Events Ltd. Enduro is one of the world’s longest standing off-road motorcycle disciplines, the motorcycle equivalent of car rallying. Sprint enduro is an exciting new rider, spectator, and media friendly discipline that delivers simple to understand, day-long, enduro racing action. The series caters for the best enduro talent in the UK.

About Husqvarna

Husqvarna is an iconic off-road motorcycle brand. Enjoying competitive success at the highest level, in 2011 Husqvarna clinched the Enduro 1 and Enduro 2 World Championship titles with their TE250 and TE310 machines ridden by Finn Juha Salminen and Frenchman Antoine Meo. Building its first motorcycle in 1903 Husqvarna motorcycles were produced in Sweden until ’86 when the company was sold to the Cagiva Group, which later became MV Agusta S.p.A. Enduro greats such as Anders Eriksson, Paul Edmondson, Samuli Aro, Stefan Merriman, Petri Silvan, Antoine Meo and Juha Salminen have all enjoyed world championship winning success with Husqvarna. https://www.husqvarna-motorcycles.co.uk.