Brown Wins Enduro-X Final, Hollis Takes The Title - Enduro Tyres

Brown Wins Enduro-X Final, Hollis Takes The Title

Brown Wins Enduro-X Final, Hollis Takes The Title

Mike Brown wins final round of the Australian Enduro-X series in Melbourne but it’s Chris Hollis that secures the title.

Husqvarna’s Mike Brown gave his Australian team a special farewell present at the final round of the KTM Enduro-X Nationals at Melbourne’s Calder Park Raceway, with a spectacular win.

Brown qualified fastest for the main event and then powered his Husqvarna FC350 to a race victory and two second placings in the finals to win from Beau Ralston and KTM’s Toby Price. The result gave him an impressive sixth in the championship despite riding just two of the three rounds.

“It was a good day today,” told Brown. “I got some good starts, but crashed twice in the second race when they watered the track and didn’t tell us, but that’s racing, that happens sometimes. Then in the third final, me and Toby got good starts but I knew what I had to do to win so I didn’t have to take too many extra risks. These have been among the best Enduro-X tracks I’ve ridden.”

Price EX3 Post 1080

But with Brown out of title contention the focus for championship honours centred around points leader Chris Hollis and Toby Price.

In Final #1 it looked like things were going Price’s way when Hollis crashed and dropped to the rear of the field. With Price out front the championship hung in the balance until the KTM rider became wedged on a rock and dropped to seventh. Despite taking a convincing win in Final #3, Price was unable to close the gap to Hollis and ended the series as runner-up to the Yamaha rider.

Keeping his nerve throughout the nail biting final round, Hollis ended the short three-round series just six points in front of Price to secure the 2014 KTM Australian Enduro-X Championship.

2014 KTM Australian Enduro-X Nationals Championship final points:

1. Chris Hollis 188
2. Toby Price 182
3. Daniel Milner 161
4. Tom McCormack 130
5. Peter Boyle 128
6. Mike Brown 127
7. Beau Ralston 113
8. Stefan Granquist 95
9. Glenn Kearney 82
10. Jack Field 55
11. Scott Keegan 48