Cody Webb Wins AMA EnduroCross Rnd 5 - Enduro Tyres

Cody Webb Wins AMA EnduroCross Rnd 5

Cody Webb Wins AMA EnduroCross Rnd 5

Cody Webb claimed his second straight win in the AMA EnduroCross Championship with victory at round five of the series in Everett, Washington.

Images: © Shan Moore/ & Christy Brosius/KTM Images

Catching, and then passing race leader, Mike Brown (KTM) on the penultimate lap of the final, Webb hung on to secure the win in front of a sold out stadium.

Despite starting from the outside gate for the final, Brown grabbed the holeshot and quickly opened up a sizeable lead as championship rival Taddy Blazusiak (KTM) crashed on the second corner.

At the midway point in the race it looked as if Brown was on for a comfortable win but with the laps winding down he began to make mistakes and slowed his pace. Riding into the clutches of Webb on the penultimate, Brown then crashed as the Beta rider passed him on a tricky log crossing.

mike-brown Las Vegas NV 900-web

Holding off Honda’s Colton Haaker on the last lap, Brown took the runner-up result and extended his points lead over Blazusiak.

“I started making some mistakes towards the end of the race and I was really my worst enemy tonight,” Brown said. “I’m still happy to be on the box and gain some points towards the championship.”

The main race proved more difficult for Blazusiak who crashed on the second corner. But by the halfway point Taddy had advanced up to fifth place behind Haaker. Then Kawasaki’s Taylor – who was in third – crashed, allowing Blazusiak and Haaker to move up the order. Taddy went on to finish fourth.

With two rounds of the championship remaining Brown now holds a seven-point lead over defending champion Blazusiak.

The penultimate event is at Boise, Idaho on November 9, 2013.

taddy-blazusiak Las Vegas NV 900-web

Results – EnduroCross Rnd 5 

1. Cody Webb (Beta)

2. Mike Brown (KTM)

3. Colton Haaker (Honda)

4. Taddy Blazusiak (KTM)

5. Cory Graffunder (Husqvarna)

6. Taylor Robert (Kawasaki)

7. Kyle Redmond (KTM)

8. Gary Sutherlin (KTM)

9. Geoff Aaron (KTM)

10. Justin Soule

Point Standings 

1. Mike Brown – 112

2. Taddy Blazusiak – 105

3. Taylor Robert – 90