Goncalves Wins Rally dos Sertoes - Enduro Tyres

Goncalves Wins Rally dos Sertoes

Goncalves Wins Rally dos Sertoes

At the final stage of the Rally Dos Sertoes it was up to Paulo Goncalves and his Speedbrain Rally Team to take the lead home to the finish line. And they got the job done.

At the longest and most challenging Rally of the world championship calendar Paulo Goncalves was able to win ahead of the Dakar winners and world champions of the previous years and put the Bavarian made Speedbrain 450 R for the first time on the top step of a world championship podium.

The stage offered a lot of different terrain despite being quite short. When Goncalves reached the finish line in third position a big burden fell off both of his and the teams shoulders. Everybody was delighted to get everything done after more than 4000 km through Brazil. The Portuguese could ride his own pace thanks to his solid margin so it was up to his toughest competitors Marc Coma and Cyril Despres to go for the stage victory.

Because of it’s length the World championship round at Brazil count double points. With the ultimate round at Egypt ahead Goncalves sits only three points behind leader Marc Coma in the world championship standings.

podium - paulo goncalves 20130804 1429051387-1080-web

Paulo Goncalves: “This is a very important victory for myself and the entire team Speedbrain after becoming close second on the podium at the last several rounds. I have no words for this win today, I am so happy. And for sure this win not only belongs to me. It is a teamwork result for my Speedbrain 450 R bike and everybody of the team staff. Without their perfect job this would not have been possible.

“Four stage wins and nine times on the podium is a great reward when looking at the very hard race and tough competition. A big thank you also to all of our sponsors. We are only a small manufacturer but the support is great. Now I look forward to the final round at Egypt. I will fight hard to win the world championship title.”

Final Overall Results Rally dos Sertoes 2013:

1. Paulo Goncalves (PRT, Speedbrain) 30:27:38 hrs
2. Despres (FRA, Yamaha) +00:25:00
3. Coma (ESP, KTM) +00:30:52
4. Azevedo (BRA, Honda) +01:20:00
5. Przygonski (POL, KTM)+01:31:36