Mullins Wraps Up Enduro Title With Black Coal Win - Enduro Tyres

Mullins Wraps Up Enduro Title With Black Coal Win

Mullins Wraps Up Enduro Title With Black Coal Win

Charlie Mullins wrapped up the 2013 Rekluse AMA National Enduro Series championship with one race remaining on the schedule by taking the overall win at this weekend’s Black Coal National Enduro in Lynnville, Indiana.

Mullins came into the race needing only to finish ahead of Radiant AirGroup Racing’s Nick Fahringer to sew up the title and the FMF/KTM rider did just that… and more.

Mullins was also gunning for the Radiant AirGroup Racing Bounty money, which is awarded to any rider who can win all six tests in a single race. And while Mullins won four of the six tests, he was thwarted in the third and fourth tests by Andrew DeLong and Jesse Groemm, respectively, so the Bounty will roll over to the Oklahoma round where it will now be worth $5000.

After getting off to a great start, one that saw him win the first three tests of the day, Mullins overcame problems in tests four and five before finishing up with a strong ride to win the sixth and final test. The Ohio-born rider and 2010 AMA National Enduro Champ finished the event with a minute-and-a-half edge over Am Pro Yamaha’s Groemm, with DeLong rounding out the podium on his FAR Husqvarna.


“It certainly feels good to win another Enduro title, and especially to do it early,” said Mullins. “This was a great event and I just got off to a good start and then just tried to manage the race from there.”

Groemm’s runner-up finish was the New Jersey rider’s best performance yet in the series and it moved him up to sixth in the overall standings. Meanwhile, DeLong’s third place finish was impressive considering it was his first race back after spending the last few months recovering from a broken hand.

Fahringer just barely missed out on fourth, but still maintains second in the standings despite finishing off the podium for only the second time all year.

Obermeyer Yamaha’s Brad Bakken finished fifth, just 25 seconds ahead of factory Husaberg rider and four-time champ Russell Bobbitt.

After Bobbitt was Grant Baylor KTM in seventh, while eight-time champ Mike Lafferty finished eighth on a factory Husaberg.

Colorado rider Ian Blythe rode strong to ninth, with Tanner Thomas rounding out the top 10 on a 150cc KTM. Thomas also won the 200A division.

The Rekluse AMA National Enduro Series resumes action with its series finale on October 20th at Oklahoma City, Oklahoma.


1. Charlie Mullins (KTM)

2. Jesse Groemm (Yam)

3. Andrew DeLong (Hsq)

4. Nick Fahringer (Hsb)

5. Brad Bakken (Yam)

6. Russell Bobbitt (Hsb)

7. Grant Baylor (KTM)

8. Mike Lafferty (Hsb)

9. Ian Blythe (KTM)

10. Tanner Thomas (KTM)