Baylor brothers go one-two at round seven of the AMA National Enduro Series…

After starting off with the ninth fastest time in the opening test of the day, Steward Baylor came on strong for the remainder of the event at the Rattlesnake Enduro, round seven of the Kenda AMA National Enduro Series, presented by Rocky Mountain ATV/MC, to claim his second win of the season, beating his brother, Grant, by just under a minute.

Since winning the opening round of the series in South Carolina Steward has encountered a multitude of problems, including a badly broken collarbone two days before the second round of the series. However, with his win today, and the fact that current points leader Kailub Russell finished a disappointing sixth, he tightened up the points chase considerably.

In test one, FMF/KTM’s Russell Bobbitt turned the quickest time, beating series points leader and teammate Kailub Russell by 11 seconds, with Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Andrew DeLong in third another four seconds back.

However, Baylor took control of the race in test two and won four of the next five tests, giving the MotoTech KTM rider the overall win.

“I got off to a bad start and made a lot of careless errors, and the only thing I could think was I work too hard to come in here and have a bad result,” said Steward Baylor. “I’ve been working really hard and so I just tried to get things going starting with the second test and everything went my way.”

Grant Baylor, who is part of the lethal AmPro Yamaha team, won the fourth test outright and then tied with his brother, Steward, for the fastest time in the fifth test, giving the South Carolina native second overall.  

“I was a little off pace in the first test but I’m kind of a slow starter anyway,” said Grant Baylor. “But then I started to feel more comfortable and I was able to pick up the pace.”

Beta USA’s Jesse Groemm is getting back to form after spending most of the season dealing with a severe concussion and finished third in Pennsylvania, just 51 seconds behind Grant on his two-stroke 300 RR.

“I had a really bad ride in the first test, but I came back strong in the rest of the enduro,” said Groemm. “I think the secret was not falling down, and I didn’t all day long.”

Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Russell Bobbitt, who sits third in points, finished fourth just four seconds off Groemm’s pace.

“I had a few ups and downs but I got off to a great start when I won the first test,” said Bobbitt. “But this place kind of gets more technical as the day goes on and I just kind of struggled in a few of the later tests, like the fifth test, the AA-only test, and also in the final test.”

Fifth was DeLong, who finished third and second in the first two tests on his Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing FC 350, beating Kailub Russell by almost a full minute.

Russell was sixth and didn’t have much to say for himself after the race, but was obviously disappointed. Meanwhile, Nick Fahringer was making his first race back after spending several months rehabbing a torn ligament in his knew. The AirGroup Racing Husqvarna rider finished seventh.

“I think it was a good finish for my first race back,” said Fahringer. “I just took it slow and minimised my mistakes.”

Beta USA’s Cory Buttrick was eighth on his four-stroke 430 RR, while AirGroup Racing Husqvarna’s Ryder Lafferty and ex-pro motocrosser Broc Hepler (KTM) rounded out the top 10.

In the Expert AA class, Evan Smith edged out fellow KTM rider Drew Higgins by just two seconds for the win. Meanwhile Ethan Ficklan, also on a KTM, was third, another 59 seconds back.

The Kenda AMA National Enduro Series, presented by Rocky Mountain ATV/MC, resumes on August 23 in Moorestown, Michigan for the Jack Pine Enduro.

Results – Rattlesnake Enduro

1. Steward Baylor (KTM)

2. Grant Baylor (Yam)

3. Jesse Groemm (Bet)

4. Russell Bobbitt (KTM)

5. Andrew DeLong (Hus)

6. Kailub Russell (KTM)

7. Nick Fahringer (Hus)

8. Cory Buttrick (Bet)

9. Ryder Lafferty (Hus)

10. Broc Hepler (KTM)