The Tough One – Breakdown - Enduro Tyres

The Tough One – Breakdown

The Tough One – Breakdown
The juicy bits from The Tough One Hard Enduro at Hawkstone Park…

David Knight refused to lose. He led the race then lost it but worked his ass off to win it back. Eradicating a five-minute deficit to Jonny Walker at the rate of about 40 seconds per lap we finally saw Knight back to his very best. Bloody awesome!

Knight didn’t have a whole lot left in the tank by the time he crossed the finish line. But when you win that doesn’t really matter.

Jonny Walker looked like he had done everything right. He got the start, led the race, was gifted a massive advantage due to Knight’s mistake and put in solid lap times. Unfortunately the Knighter Express wasn’t in the script. He finished second.

F7M 140419 The-Tough-One-2014 0012-1080

Fourth for Graham Jarvis and his first The Tough One loss in four years. Some might say it was his switch to the four-stroke but even Jarvis admitted the track was just a little to fast for him. However, after shaking off some arm pump he put on a charge to reach as high as third before running out of steam at the end and slipped back to fourth.

Andreas Lettenbichler had an enormous wreck on lap two as he dropped down one of the many nasty descents while running third. Needing an extended pit stop to straighten out the front end of his KTM he clawed his way back to sixth.

Despite missing Hell’s Gate due to appendicitis Alfredo Gomez got back into the swing of things and claimed a podium result at Hawkstone Park. Considering he only got cleared to ride four weeks ago that’s a pretty solid effort for the Spaniard.


Tough but tough done differently. A brutal and physically demanding track ensured no one was keen on another lap come the end of the three-hour race. There may have been less ‘extreme sections’ than in the past but by the time Steve Ireland waved his chequered flag everyone was glad to see the finish.

Dust – we never saw that before at The Tough One. Having the race at Easter instead of early January replaced the usual mud and snow with a sprinkling of dust.

Thanks to Knight, Sherco also bagged their first ever Hard Enduro win. Will there be more to come in 2014?

With another top five result, Paul Bolton continues to be Hard Enduro’s top scoring privateer. But it’s back to the road sweeper on Tuesday for Bolts.


It’s not The Tough One without the traditional Le Mans start. And while it was great to watch, maybe next year we can line them up behind that starting gate!

Tip of the hat to Jane Daniels. Twelfth in Experts with 13 laps completed.

Wayne Braybrook – winner of the Expert Vets – added another Tough One podium to his collection. He may not be mixing it with the Pro’s anymore but his result was good enough for 13th overall – even with a third row start handicap.

Cracking weather, big crowds, awesome racing and healthy supply of ice cream ensured The Tough One found a new home at Hawkstone Park. Roll on 2015!

Results – The Tough One 2014

Pro Class

1. David Knight (Sherco) 18 laps, 3:00:24; 2. Jonny Walker (KTM) 3:02:19; 3. Alfredo Gomez (Husqvarna) 3:09:24; 4. Graham Jarvis (Husqvarna) 3:11:46; 5. Paul Bolton (KTM) 17 laps, 3:01:16; 6. Andreas Lettenbichler (KTM) 3:10:09; 7. Ben Hemingway (Beta) 3:10:19; 8. Dougie Lampkin (KTM) 16 laps, 3:01:20; 9. Miha Pindler (Beta) 3:03:18; 10. Lars Enockl (KTM) 3:06:03; 11. Gethin Humphreys (Sherco) 3:07:20; 12. Otto Freund (KTM) 3:0734; 13. Gary Daniels (Sherco) 3:09:58; 14. Scott Austin (Honda) 3:10:32; 15. Carsten Stranghoner (Gas Gas) 3:11:32; 16. Owain Humphreys (Sherco) 15 laps, 3:00:41; 17. Andy Noakley (KTM) 3:01:54; 18. Mike Skinner (KTM) 3:04:00; 19. Rogojan Emanuel (Sherco) 14 laps, 3:07:36; 20. Melcoir Faja (Gas Gas) 13 laps, 3:00:51…