Wade Young Wins South African Championship, Rd4 - Enduro Tyres

Wade Young Wins South African Championship, Rd4

Wade Young Wins South African Championship, Rd4

Husaberg’s Wade Young delivered a perfect race at round four of the South African Enduro Championship at Pilgrims Rest to secure the overall win.

With the battle continuing between Wade Young (Husaberg Alfie Cox Racing) and the defending E2 champion, Marc Torlage (Proudly Bidvest Yamaha) it was Young that held his nerve to record his second win of the season.

It was quite close though as only 22 seconds eventually separated Young – who also won the E2/200cc Class – from Torlage. Despite crashing on the final lap, Young won all three of the short 3km special test. Setting identical times on the opening 9km long special test, Torlage later went on to better Young on the final lap but it wasn’t enough to take the win.

With his second win of the season Young has now strengthened his lead in the overall standings – as well as his lead in the E2 Class Championship – Torlage is still second overall.

Behind them a few more nail biting battles took place. Altus de Wet (Husqvarna Racing) claimed his third consecutive E1 (Open Class) victory and rounded off the overall top three. Ending his day 40 seconds behind Torlage, de Wet also placed 40 seconds clear of Scott Bouverie (Brother Broadlink KTM) who lost time when he fell in the river during one of the various crossings.

Altus-de-Wet 3rd-overall-900-webHusqvarna’s Altus de Wet topped the E1 standings… © Elza Thiart-Botes

Torlage’s teammate Kenny Gilbert finished fifth overall after a race that was characterised by some long and steep descents as well as a few testing climbs in the mountains around the historical town of Pilgrim’s Rest.

Bronson Louw (Criterion Yamaha Portable Shade) posted his best result this season when he finished sixth overall – a mere six seconds behind Gilbert.

Nicholas Pienaar (C3 Roost KTM) was seventh. Eight seconds separated Pienaar from Timmy Young (Kargo Racing Yamaha) in eighth.

Brett Swanepoel (Team JOAT KTM) and Travis Teasdale (Husaberg Alfie Cox Racing rounded out the top ten.

The fifth and penultimate round of the Liquorland National Enduro Championship, the traditional Castrol Winterberg Enduro, will take place on 14 September in the Port Elizabeth / Hankey area in the Eastern Cape. The final round will take place on 19 October at Matatiele.