Walker & Planet Confirmed For BSEC Rd6 - Enduro Tyres

Walker & Planet Confirmed For BSEC Rd6

Walker & Planet Confirmed For BSEC Rd6

Jonny Walker & Fabien Planet join in the fun as the British Sprint Enduro Championship series heads to Sheffield for round six…

The 2013 Husqvarna ACU British Sprint Enduro Championship continues to gather pace as the series heads to Westwood, near Sheffield, this weekend for round six of the eight-event championship.

A new venue to the BSEC, Westwood, which marks the penultimate stop of the 2013 series, will mark a crucial point in the championship. For the first time this season the BSEC series utilises a near 100 per cent woodland based course – a true ‘enduro test’ where line selection and consistency will be hugely important.

danny.mccanney bsec rd6 1080-webDanny McCanney won round four…

In the Elite class Finland’s Matti Seistola leads the way. With three wins to his credit the Husqvarna mounted rider appears to be the clear leader in the Elite championship. But at rounds four and five in Monmouth the Finn didn’t have things his own way. Facing a fierce challenge from Manx brothers Danny (Gas Gas) and Jamie McCanney (Husaberg), Seistola was forced to share the spoils of victory.

Claiming the win at round four, Danny is hungry to win again at Westwood. Likewise, unable to get the better of his brother in Llangrove, Jamie will be hoping that the woodland-based venue will favour him.

Joining in on the action will be Frenchman Fabien Planet (Sherco) and UK Hard Enduro racer Jonny Walker (KTM). For Planet the event will mark the first time the Enduro World Championship regular has raced a BSEC event, while for Walker the series’ penultimate event will mark his first sprint enduro of 2013. Planet, who is on top form this year, will be hoping to cause an upset win at round six, where he will be mounted on a 300cc two-stroke. Walker, who has enjoyed BSEC success in the past, will be looking to challenge the regular Elite class campaigners.

jonny.walker erzberg 2013 1080-webJonny Walker is a welcomed addition to Sheffield…

Now third overall in the championship standings, Jamie Lewis (HM Moto Honda) placed third at round five to claim his best result of the season to date. Keen to get back to his winning ways, KTM’s Tom Sagar will be hoping that the technical woodland trails will be to his liking.

In the Under 23 class the excitement continues to build between championship leader Jack Rowland (Husqvarna) and Steve Holcombe (KTM). Although missing rounds one and two due to injury, Holcombe hit his stride last time out at Llangrove and claimed a double win. This coming weekend Rowland is determined to fight back and stop his rival winning again. Behind them the battle for a podium spot between TM’s James Dent, Scotland’s Neil Chatham (KTM) and Yamaha’s Max Varney will remain as competitive as ever.

jamie.lewis bsec-rd6-1080-webJamie Lewis is third in the Elite championship

With four consecutive victories to his credit, Husqvarna’s Rob Johnson is on top form in the Under 19 class. But with TM’s Josh Gotts just one point behind in the battle for the championship, Johnson can’t afford to make any mistakes at Westwood. Kawasaki’s Joe Wootton and KTM’s Andrew Bull – who sit joint third overall in the series – will be pushing hard to put an end to Johnson’s winning ways.

As the only rider to remain undefeated this season, KTM’s Brad Freeman could be crowned the first BSEC champion of 2013 at Westwood. As the clear leader of the 125cc Youth class, another win at round six will help him secure the title. Behind Freeman, Husaberg’s Lee Sealey, Jack Staines (KTM), Drew Slevin (Yamaha) and Jordan Ridgway (Husaberg) are set to continue their rivalry.

Claiming his second win of the year in Llangrove, defending Expert champion Richard Ely (KTM) has returned to the head of the point’s race. But with only one-point between Ely and Kawasaki’s Brad King things are far from settled. Suffering from a non-score at round five, Sherco’s Scott Austin will be trying hard to bridge the gap to the top two in Westwood. With Jamie Paget (Husaberg), Jack Lee (Beta), Dan Beaven (KTM) and round four winner Carl Brogden (TM) all in the mix, the Expert class remains as competitive as ever.

rob.johnson-besc rd6 1080-webRob Johnson is having a stellar season in the U19 class…

In the Exert Vet class, KTM’s Andrew Reeves holds a 14-point advantage over TM’s Carl Tiley, with Neil Bowker (Honda) in third.

Richard Holmes (KTM) leads the way in the Clubman class and sits four points ahead of KTM’s Mark Denslow. Tim Cotton (Husaberg) leads the way in the Clubman Vets class and holds a five-point lead over Dai Beer (KTM).

While defending champion Jane Daniels (Husaberg) claimed a pair of wins in Llangrove, it’s KTM’s Katie Walker that controls the point’s lead in the Women’s category with Hannah Styles (Husaberg) in second position.

richard.williams bsec rd6 1080-webRichard Williams pushes hard in the Clubman class…

Info: www.enduro-sprint.com

Directions: The start area for round 6 of the 2013 Husqvarna ACU British Sprint Enduro Championship is just a few minutes from Junction 36 of the M1, near Sheffield. Follow event signs from the motorway to the start/finish and parking areas.

Postcode (nearest): S75 3DL

Entry Fee: Adults £10.00 each. Under 14 year olds free. 

Parking: Vehicles will be parked on site, close to the rider’s paddock and start/finish area.

General info: Racing starts at 9.30am both days. A sighting lap (starts 9.00am) and seven timed laps will be followed by the event prize giving ceremony. Catering and toilet facilities will be available on site.