Walker Wins Red Bull Camino de la Independencia - Enduro Tyres

Walker Wins Red Bull Camino de la Independencia

Walker Wins Red Bull Camino de la Independencia

KTM Enduro Factory rider Jonny Walker has won the Red Bull Camino de la Independencia in Colombia.

The Red Bull Camino de la Independencia – Road to Independence – which took place high in the Colombian mountains surrounding Quindio saw the 400 competitors battle it out for victory on the very tracks that served as the battle fields for Colombia’s fight for independence hundreds of years ago.

Staged over two days, Walker’s race got off to a mixed start in the Saturday prologue. With the finishing order of the prologue used to determine the starting order for Sunday’s main event, Walker crashed on the short special test and place fourth.

With clear skies greeting riders on Sunday morning, the KTM rider quickly settled into a traditional ‘time card’ style enduro. Facing four laps with two distinctive cross tests, Walker held his own in a strong field of international competition. Leading the way for the majority of the day, he increased his advantage when heavy afternoon rain made conditions extremely slippery. Ending his day over twenty seconds clear of the runner-up Giacomo Redondi, the KTM rider secured victory.


“I can’t believe how well this race has gone for me,” told Walker. “With so many riders from the Enduro World Championship competing I knew it would be tough to win. The event, which was a traditional time card enduro, favoured those guys but I was determined to give it my best shot. In the Prologue I had a small crash and finished fourth but I felt like I was riding quite good.

“Conditions were dry when we started Sunday’s main event and I settled into the format of the race quite easily. My special test times were competitive and I kept pushing hard throughout the day. On the final lap it rained and made things a little difficult but I was able to maintain my pace and held on to win. I’m really delighted to have won – it’s been a great race.”

Walker’s next race will be at the opening round of the FIM SuperEnduro World Championship in Liverpool’s Echo Arena on Sunday, November 17.

Results – Red Bull Camino de la Independencia

1. Jonny Walker (KTM); 2. Giacomo Redondi (KTM); 3. Homero Diaz (KTM); 4. Mario Roman (Husaberg); 5. Jaume Betrio (Husaberg)